Skip to content

Capitol Latino

Politics, Culture, Reporters, Thieves

“I think that the future success of our business depends on journalists enthusiastically pursuing accountability and calling it like they see it. That’s what I tried to do every day. Now I guess I’ll have to try to do it someplace else,” said Dan Froomkin when the Washington Post canned his ass, and he was right. He is now Washington Bureau Chief for Ms. Huffington’s Post, and the contact for the reporting/editorial internship I covet. Is it too much too assume the decision is his? I don’t know…

But I do know one thing is certain: my American Dream is on the line and I am where I need to be. It is comforting to know that Froomkin was “very disappointed” with WaPo’s decision to terminate their relationship with him. Now I know that he and I at least this much in common. And here at the finish line of a remarkably foul Year of the Ox, I do solemnly wonder if I will find a homeboy in Dan Froomkin.

Tags: , ,

